2018 OVO Australian Waterpolo League Finalists locked in

The top six men’s and women’s teams for the 2018 OVO Australian Waterpolo League season have been confirmed and after eleven rounds of action, with the Finals Series getting underway at Sydney Olympic Park this Friday, May 4.

The 12 finalist teams will feature teams from across Sydney as well as Perth, Brisbane and Hunter.

Playing off in a battle for the minor premiership, UNSW Wests Killer Whales travelled to Drummoyne to take on the Devils.

Their top of the table clash did not disappoint fans with both teams unable to be separated at the end of regular time, 8-8.

Killer Whales missed their first three penalty shots, while Devils were able to sink four out of their five opportunities walking away with the win 12-10 and a big confidence boost heading into this weekend’s finals series.

While not deemed minor premiers due to points, Devils captain Bre Appel was proud of their season and says it is a good thing for water polo that both teams are at the top of the table.

“I think it’s very exciting Drummoyne and Wests are top of the table. We are two teams which have never made finals or just scraped in, so it’s a showcase of the juniors we’ve developed,” she said.

Men’s minor premiership went to the undefeated Sydney University Lions who had a perfect record during the 2018 season. Their final round clash saw them play second placed Hunter Hurricanes in a match which went right down to the wire.

Lions led from start to finish but were pushed right to the end by Hurricanes who scored with just over two minutes remaining to trail by one.

In the end, Lions held on to win 6-5 and keep their undefeated record intact heading to Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre this weekend.

For your complete guide to the Finals Series this weekend, please click here.