Aussie Sharks name side for FINA World League Final

Australian Men’s Water Polo Team, the Aussie Sharks, have named their side for the 2017 FINA World League Super Final in Ruza, Russia.

After winning the FINA World League Intercontinental Tournament on the Gold Coast in April, the Aussie Sharks head into the Super Final ready to take on home side Russia as well as Japan and Croatia in the preliminary rounds.

Returning the Aussie Sharks squad, first time since the Rio Olympics to Captain the side, is dual Olympian Aaron Younger, fresh from his recent victory with Szolnok at the Champions League Final Six.  Also returning to the line up since his Olympic debut in Rio is George Ford.

A strong combination of experience and youth the new look Aussie Sharks side will be out to secure strong results in the build up to next month’s FINA World Championships in Budapest.

FINA World League Super Final Draw

Below dates and times are Australian AEST:

Wednesday 21 June; 3:15am – AUS v RUS

Thursday 22 June, 1:40am – AUS v JPN

Thursday 22 June, 11:00pm – AUS v CRO

Further times for quarter, semi and finals to come.

How to follow the action

Follow scores on Twitter @WaterpoloAus

Live streaming from 24-25 June – FINA TV

The Aussie Sharks Team

  • Nic Brooks
  • Lachlan Edwards
  • George Ford
  • Andrew Ford
  • Jarrod Gilchrist
  • Lachlan Hollis
  • Anthony Hrysanthos
  • Fannon James
  • Joe Kayes
  • Nathan Power
  • Tim Putt
  • Ed Slade
  • Aaron Younger (Captain)

Team Management  

Elvis Fatovic – Head Coach

Paul Oberman – Assistant Coach

Dejan Kontic – Strength and Conditioning/Assistant Coach

Tom Donaldson – Physiotherapist

Mathew Harris – Performance analysis

Michael Maclennan – Manager