Australian Country Teams Announced

Water Polo Australia is pleased to announce the Waterpolo Australian Country men’s and women’s teams due to travel to the 2018 Princess Chulabhorn Cup later this year.

Both men’s and women’s teams will compete across four days starting from November 22 in Thailand at Bangkok’s Chulabhorn Aquatic Club.

These teams have been selected following last month’s Waterpolo Australian Country Championships in Rockhampton and are made up of 13 travelling players with four positional reserves.

Departing Australia on November 17, both squads will go into a four-day long training camp before the championships begin.

Waterpolo Australian Country Men’s Head Coach Allen Caldwell says it is an exciting time for the players selected in both squads.

“We would like to congratulate the athletes in both teams as we had over 150 athletes from all over Australia competing in Rockhampton.

“The coaches have set their expectations high for the tournament as we will be defending our titles, but we are extremely happy that three-time Olympian Melissa Rippon will be accompanying the teams as an Assistant Coach,” he said.

Australian Country Men’s Princess Chulabhorn Cup Team:

Player State Position
Marko Draksimovic WA GK
Dylan Coolican QLD Driver
John Campbell QLD Utility
Tom Franks Tas Driver
Lesh Govender Vic Driver
Taylor Miller NSW CB
Jake Robinson NSW Utility
Lucas Mackaway NSW CF
Jimmy Scannell Vic Driver
Ethan Moore NSW Utility
Steele Gribble QLD CF
Matt Wilson QLD CB
Mathew Brady ADF GK/Utility
Trevor Southern (reserve) QLD CF/CB
Toby Verrier (reserve) Tas LH/Utility
Andrew Dunford (reserve) NSW CF
Jayden Horne (reserve) WA Driver
Allen Caldwell (Head Coach) NSW
Melissa Rippon (Assistant) QLD
Roslyn Caldwell (Tour Director) NSW

Australian Country Women’s Princess Chulabhorn Cup Team:

Player State Position
Chelsea Clarke NSW GK
Eliza Limn NSW Utility
Libby Magann NSW CB
Belle Humby NSW Utility
Leah Dodd NSW Driver
Caroline Zanussi QLD CF/CB
Tess Jenkins QLD Driver
Stacey Williams QLD Driver
Peta Schulte QLD CF/CB
Jane Lawerance QLD CF/LH
Carrie Fettes ADF Utility
Rosie Stimson NSW Driver
Mikayla Thomas QLD GK
Lily Zeeman (reserve) Tas Driver
Jacqui Lukis (reserve) QLD Utility
Caitlin Reed (reserve) WA Utility
Bella Faulder (reserve) NSW Driver
Emma Hill (Head Coach) QLD
Melissa Rippon (Assistant) QLD
Roslyn Caldwell (Tour Director) NSW