Final Australian team announced for FINA Youth Women’s World Championships

Water Polo Australia is pleased to announce the final Born 2000 Women’s team selected to represent Australia at the FINA Youth World Championships beginning on 27 August in Belgrade, Serbia.

All thirteen selected athletes will depart for Europe in early August on a month-long tour.

A three-day tournament in Hungary officially kickstarts their tour on August 10 which is followed by training with the Greek youth squad in Athens from August 13-16.

The Born 2000 Women will remain in Greece to compete in the Pythia Cup from August 17-19, before traveling to Serbia for their final training preparations.

In Serbia the Born 2000 Women’s team will train from August 20-26 ahead of their first FINA Youth World Championships match on August 27.

For the FINA tournament, Australia has been placed in a group alongside Uzbekistan, Greece and Brazil.

To view the official FINA Women’s Youth World Championships website – click here.

Congratulations to the following 13 athletes selected to represent Australia in the Born 2000 Women’s team:

Abby Andrews – Brisbane Barracudas, QLD
Charlize Andrews – Polo Bears, QLD
Hayley Ballesty – Sydney Northern Beaches Breakers, NSW
Kasey Dalziel – Polo Bears, QLD
Lily Hawthorn – Sydney University, NSW
Matilda Kearns – Sydney University, NSW
Sophie Milliken – Queensland Breakers, QLD
Maisie Newell – Sunshine Coast, QLD
Jamie Oberman – Triton, WA
Ruby Swadling – UNSW Wests, NSW
Nioka Thomas – UTS Balmain, NSW
Carla Traplin – Sydney University, NSW
Alyssa West – FYFE Adelaide Jets, SA

Head Coach – Dusan Damjanovic
Assistant Coach / Team Manager – Debbie Watson
Physiotherapist – Emma Sulley
Referee – Daniel Bartels