The new Australian Women’s Water Polo Head Coach, Sakis Kechagias, has named a fresh faced Aussie Stingers squad ahead of the April camp at the Australian Institute of Sport.

Kicking off their campaign for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, returning Olympians Rowie Webster, Isobel Bishop, Hannah Buckling, Keesja Gofers and Lea Yanitsas will headline the squad.

With several senior players unavailable due to overseas competition, the camp provides the perfect opportunity for the next generation of water polo stars to step into the senior camp environment and showcase their skills in front of the Australian coaches.

Recently arriving in Australia, Stingers Head Coach Sakis Kechagias, is looking forward to hitting the ground running.

“This camp is the first step of big journey that starts now, with the final destination Tokyo.

“I am looking forward to working with the athletes and staff and starting our journey together,” he said.

Congratulations to those named in the Aussie Stingers squad.  Additional players may also be named following the National Water Polo League Finals.

Aussie Stingers

Elle Armit QLD
Tyler Baillie QLD
Isobel Bishop NSW
Hannah Buckling NSW
Pascalle Casey NSW
Brooke Dickie NSW
Keesja Gofers NSW
Lilian Hedges WA
Matilda Kearns NSW
Bridget Leeson Smith QLD
Dayna O’Leary WA
Gabi Palm QLD
Amy Ridge NSW
Ashleigh Roberts QLD
Elodie Ruffin QLD
Tiana Sogaard Andersen QLD
Rowie Webster VIC
Alice Williams QLD
Lea Yanitsas NSW