NWPL Top NewsArchive

NWPL 2015/16 - Season Information

The National Water Polo League (NWPL), is Australia’s premier domestic water polo competition. Twelve clubscompete in the Annual event which comprises of both a men’s and women’s competition.

The NWPL provides important competition opportunities for national squad members as well as the next generation of Australian water polo talent. It is truly a national competition, featuring teams from five states across Australia and international players often join teams competing in the League creating a high quality competition.

Results and Standings | 2015/16 Season Draw | Men´s NWPL Teams | Women´s NWPL Teams |

NWPL History

The National Water Polo League (NWPL) conducted its inaugural season in 1990. In the early years the competition was dominated by the Victorian Tigers who won the first four championships.

The Cronulla Sharks, from Sydney’s south, then started their record run of five championships in six years and this was followed by the Fremantle Mariners from Western Australia, who in 2006 set the record of ten consecutive Grand Final appearances – they won four titles during this time.

The 2004 season saw the first year of competition of the women’s teams. A total of 12 teams competed with the Fremantle Marlins beating the KFC Queensland Breakers in the inaugural Grand Final. (read more).

NWPL History | NWPL Highlights | NWPL Honour Board |

NWPL Operations

The National Water Polo League (NWPL) is run under the rules of the International Federation (FINA) and the constitution, rules, regulations, by-laws and policy of Water Polo Australia Ltd (WPAL).

The Operations Manual details the rules upon which the NWPL is conducted and identifies and defines those rules that are specific to the running of the NWPL.

The manual must be present at all league matches and details the minimum standards for hosting NWPL matches. It should be referred to by both clubs and referees in all matters of dispute.

NWPL Operations Manual | NWPL Meetings Minutes |