Outcomes of 2015/16 Water Polo AGM

Water Polo Australia (WPA) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Sydney on Saturday 26 November. WPA’s members, being the State and Territory Associations, gathered for the organisation’s annual review and election of Directors.

Key Achievements

Key achievements of the organisation for the 2015/16 reporting period include:

  • A number of strategies to increase participation were implemented, including a research project which led to the release of a new look FlippaBall The program is growing quickly and is now part of the Australian Sports Commission’s Sporting Schools program.
  • Our Aussie Sharks and Aussie Stingers enjoyed strong results on the international stage with the Stingers winning bronze at the World League Finals in Hungary. In a positive sign for the future, an Australian Women’s Team, consisting of juniors and athletes for the B95 World Championships, won the Gold Medal at the XXVIII World University Games which was held in South Korea in July 2015.
  • On the High Performance front work began on an initial blueprint for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic cycle with major stakeholders coming together for a Towards Tokyo camp which was staged at the AIS in Canberra.
  • The National Water Polo League went from strength to strength with the Sydney University Women and UWA Torpedoes Men winning the titles. It was a milestone victory for the UWA Torpedoes who won the title for the first time.
  • The raising of water polo’s profile through the development of a comprehensive communications strategy encompassing traditional and social media which has seen significant exposure and recognition for the sport. Highlights include a 344% increase in Instagram followers and support for the organisation’s Facebook increasing by 70%. A national media campaign leveraging the 2016 Rio Olympic Games saw further gains for the sport through increased TV and print exposure at a national and local level.

To view the WPA 2015/16 Annual Report – click here.

Board Elections

In accordance with the WPA constitution, board elections coincide with the organisation’s AGM. As a result of the elections:

  • Phil Scales has been returned to the board;
  • Thomas Whalan also returns to the Board, this time as an elected Director having previously been the Athlete Commission’s representative; and
  • Steve Blunt,former Water Polo Victoria Director and President of the Victorian Seals, becomes the newest member of the Board.

Elected Directors are appointed for a three-year term.

The WPA Board is elected by WPA’s State and Territory associations.

WPA would like to take this opportunity to thank outgoing President Phil Garling, who has served on the WPA Board since 2013.  During his tenure Phil was appointed President of the Board where he has overseen several major achievements:

  • Introduced a new constitution for the sport
  • Introduced commercial and business development strategy
  • Oversaw increased turnover from $4,000,000 to $6,500,000
  • Launch of the new-look FlippaBall national development program.

In accordance with the WPA constitution, the position of WPA President will be voted on at the first Board meeting of the new WPA Board meeting, which will be held on 5 December 2016.

WPA would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the considerable contributions made by Amy Hertzel who after 7 years on the board, didn’t stand for re-election.During the year Suzie Fraser  retired as an appointed director and we also acknowledged her important contribution. Jane Moran joined the board during the year as an appointed director to replace Suzie, she has subsequently been elected as the Chair of the WPA Athletes Commission and therefore takes up the Athletes Commision’s Directorship on the Board.

The WPA Board now stands as follows:

Daniel Bartels            Elected Director (ending 2017)

Steve Blunt                 Elected Director (ending 2019)

David Martin              Elected Director (ending 2017)

Jane Moran                Athletes Commission Director (ending 2020)

Kathy Ostin                Appointed Director (ending 2016)

Phil Scales                  Elected Director (ending 2019)

Thomas Whalan        Elected Director (ending 2019).