Water Polo Australia names teams for the FINA World Championships

Water Polo Australia has named its Women’s and Men’s teams to take on the FINA World Championships which gets underway on Sunday 16 July in Budapest, Hungary.

The Aussie Stingers (Women’s) and Aussie Sharks (Men’s) have named new look sides for the first major international Tournament since the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

Water Polo Australia High Performance Manager Tom Hill said the start of the new Olympic cycle presents an ideal opportunity for both sides to offer the next generation of talent to compete on the international stage.

“This international season for our teams is the official kick off for our Tokyo 2020 campaign, with new talent joining our more experienced players.

“It has been a some-what challenging preparation, with several players unavailable for selection due to injury or taking time off. But what that allows us to do is give the players coming through our pathways the opportunity to step into the senior teams.

“For our Women’s team we have welcomed a new Head Coach in Sakis Kechagias, who joined our team in April this year.

“Our teams have been in Asia and Europe in the lead up to World Championships, with some mix results but overall improving performances in the build up.

“A World Championship in Budapest will provide a unique experience for all players, with Margaret Island regarded as the ‘home of water polo’.  We’re expecting big game atmosphere and tough competition,” he said.

Dual Olympians Rowie Webster and Aaron Younger have been named Captains for the sides.   The Aussie Stingers kick off competition on Sunday when they take on Kazakhstan, with the Aussie Sharks up against the huge task when they take on home side Hungary in the opening Men’s Game next Monday.

FOLLOW ALL THE ACTION

Twitter, Facebook and Instagram – @WaterpoloAus

Visit – www.waterpoloaustralia.com.au

Visit – www.fina-budapest2017.com

Aussie Stingers Team

Lea Yanitsas

Amy Ridge

Hannah Buckling

Lena Mihailovic

Isobel Bishop

Keesja Gofers

Rowie Webster (Captain)

Maddy Steere

Jess Zimmerman

Zoe Arancini

Morgan Baxter

Bronte Halligan

Lil Hedges

 

Aussie Sharks Team

Ed Slade

Nic Brooks

George Ford

Joe Kayes

Nathan Power

Jarrod Gilchrist

Andrew Ford

Aaron Younger (Captain)

Lachlan Hollis

James Fannon

Tim Putt

Lachlan Edwards

Anthony Hyranthos

DRAW

Aussie Stingers

Group D
 – Australia
 – Russia
 – Kazakhstan
 – Greece

 

16 JULY 2017

AUSTRALIA – KAZAKHSTAN (PRELIMINARY ROUND)

Budapest, Hungary 18:50 – 19:55

17 July – Sydney, Australia 02:50 – 03:55 +1

18 JULY 2017

AUSTRALIA – RUSSIA (PRELIMINARY ROUND)

Budapest, Hungary 17:30 – 18:35

19 July –  Sydney, Australia 01:30 – 02:35 +1

20 JULY 2017

AUSTRALIA – GREECE (PRELIMINARY ROUND)

Budapest, Hungary 10:50 – 11:55

21 July – Sydney, Australia 18:50 – 19:55

Aussie Sharks

Group B
 – France
 – Australia
 – Italy
 – Hungary

 

17 JULY 2017

AUSTRALIA – HUNGARY (PRELIMINARY ROUND) 

Budapest, Hungary 20:10 – 21:15

18 July – Sydney, Australia 04:10 – 05:15

19 JULY 2017

FRANCE – AUSTRALIA (PRELIMINARY ROUND) 

Budapest, Hungary 09:30 – 10:35

20 July – Sydney, Australia 17:30 – 18:35

21 JULY 2017

AUSTRALIA – ITALY (PRELIMINARY ROUND) 

Budapest, Hungary 21:30 – 22:35

22 July – Sydney, Australia 05:30 – 06:35