Water Polo By the Sea – Aussie Sharks take on International All Stars

The 2017 Water Polo By the Sea returns to the iconic Bondi Icebergs where the Aussie Sharks will take on an ‘All-Star’ international team in this exhibition water polo contest on Thursday 9 March.

Crowds will pack Bondi Icebergs to see some of the biggest names in Australian water polo as well as from around the globe to take on the contest.

Many of the Aussie Sharks from the Rio Olympics will be back together for the first time and will be joined by some of the junior representative Aussie players.

If you can't make the event watch live on Facebook @WaterPoloByTheSea

If you can’t make the event watch live on Facebook @WaterPoloByTheSea

Among the international line up includes Filip Filipovic, arguably the best player in the world with gold and two bronze Olympic medals to his name along with two gold an silver at the World Championships, nine gold medals at the World League and five gold at the European Championships.

He’ll be joined by Spanish Captain, Guillermo ‘Willy’ Molina, who enjoyed his fourth Olympics in Rio in 2016 and is currently playing Champions League with Pro Recco.

Don’t miss all the action at the Bondi Icebergs from 5:30pm – details on the event website www.waterpolobythesea.com

If you can’t make the event tune into Facebook live streaming from 5:30pm – @WaterPoloByTheSea

Aussie Sharks

Cap First Name Last Name Club
1 Joel Dennerley UNSW WESTS
2 Richard Campbell UNSW WESTS
3 Lachlan Hollis UNSW WESTS
4 John Cotterill SYDNEY UNI
5 Billy Miller BARRACUDAS
6 Jarrod Gilchrist UNSW WESTS
7 Rhys Holden UNSW WESTS
8 Tyler Martin DRUMMOYNE
9 Nick Brooks ACU CRONULLA
11 Rhys Howden BARRACUDAS
12 Charlie Negus UNSW WESTS
13 Goran Tomasevic SYDNEY UNI
16 James Clark UTS BALMAIN

International All Stars

Cap First Name Surname Country
1 Jon Sibley USA
2 Matteo Sessantini ITA
3 Michael Rosenthal USA
4 Matt Lewis NZL
5 Guillermo Molina ESP
6 Dusko Pijetlovic SRB
7 Maurizio Felugo ITA
8 Ciaran James GBR
9 Samuelle Avallone ITA/AUS
10 Filip Filipovic SRB
11 Alex Obert USA
12 Daichi Ezaki JPN
13 Tom Kearns NZL
16 Anthony Hrysanthos AUS